DC Earthquake

I just returned home from Paris last night and what a welcome home I received today – a 5.9 earthquake! I have to admit an earthquake is the last thing that ran through my mind as my computer screen started to shake and then everything else. Fortunately my co-worker is from California so he told me to get under my desk. I did. The shaking stopped, we stood up, and people started pouring through the emergency exit. Originally, I thought it was construction, but alas it was not. Two hours later, I’m home and the school next door is bustling with students waiting outside for parents to get them. Always something!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Alison Macor on August 24, 2011 at 3:45 pm

    Thanks for updating those of us in other parts of the country. Glad to hear you’re okay!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Melissa Reichley on August 25, 2011 at 9:33 am

    Welcome home! What would Millicent have done in or said about the earthquake?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

