Writer’s Sojourn

Today finally arrived, the day when I was heading south on my writer’s sojourn – uninterrupted time to do nothing but write. The destination – Lovingston, Virginia. The drive south on route 29 reminded how beautiful this country is. Rolling hills, blue sky, and the Blue Ridge Mountains in the distance. When I saw a sign for “Pete’s Park N Eat” roadside restaurant I couldn’t help but give in to temptation. The sign hollered steak and cheese. I pulled off the road and went in. I ordered. There was no indoor seating to eat, just benches to wait. Fortunately, the sun was shining and the patio tables were empty. Time to dig in. My steak & cheese came with grilled onions, banana peppers, steak, cheese, mayo and oil and vinegar. I have to admit the latter was a nice touch. Now I know why this past week I’ve gained five welcome pounds. And, wouldn’t you know it, that’s when I went out and bought new clothes. At this rate they won’t fit soon. Murphy’s Law. Little did I know my late lunch would be the highlight of my day. Stay tuned tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

